top of page

ZYL Summer Schedule at a Glance


Brothers,


As you know, we have come to the end of our Fraternal Year 2023-24.  We will not hold chapter meetings for July and August and will resume in September 2024.

Below are some important dates for your summer calendar.


Saturday - 6/15/24Book Club meeting - The Invisible Ache, by Courtney B. Vance

A Mental Health Professional will be present for the conversation

Time: 9:30 am

Location: Hunters Creek Swim & Racquet Club, 417 Queens Row St, Herndon, VA  20172

This is an excellent book about mental health issues in the Black community. I encourage fraternity members to read it and learn about this prevalent topic.  

We are also having a morning potluck breakfast and asking brothers to bring a dish.  

 

Saturday - 8/17/24  Chapter Retreat

Time and Location - TBD

This will be a significant chapter retreat, and it will involve discussing issues important to every member of Zeta Upsilon Lambda.

 

Sunday - 8/18/24 Chapter Picnic

Time: 12 pm

Location: Lake Fairfax Park - 1400 Lake Fairfax Drive, Reston, VA 20190

 Zeta Upsilon Lambda has voted to partner with the ladies of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority with their annual clothing drive, Family Free Shopping Spree.  The big event will take place on

Date: September 14

Location: Park View High School

 

Saturday - 8/24/24  Adopt A Highway

Time: 9:00 am

The location is in the parking lot of RTC West, 12100 Sunset Hills Road, and on the corner of Town Center Parkway.

 

Collection of Clothing Dates over the summer:

Meeting at the container to receive and sort items from 9:00 am -12:00 noon on the following dates:  

 

Saturday, June 1

Saturday, June 29

Saturday, July 13 

Saturday, July 27

Saturday, August 3 

Saturday, August 31 

Saturday, September 7

 

We are asked to send 1 to 2 members to assist if possible.

 

Please look for other chapter activities we may be involved with for the summer. Information will be provided by similar email communications.

 

Fraternally,

 

Eric Brown – President

Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity

Zeta Upsilon Lambda Chapter

4 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page